Awards & Fundraising

The Historical Society of Central Florida supports the Orange County Regional History Center’s exhibitions and programming through various fundraising events each year.

Donald A. Cheney Award

The Donald A. Cheney Award was established by the Historical Society of Central Florida to recognize and pay tribute to individuals in the Central Florida community who embody unfailing dedication to the area’s history.

The award is named for Judge Donald A. Cheney, a devoted student and promoter of local history, as well as the founder of the Orange County Historical Society and the Orange County Historical Museum, the forerunners of the current Historical Society and History Center.

Previous Recipients

  • Jean Yothers (1992)
  • Orville R. Davis (1993)
  • Andrew Serros (1994)
  • Dann Pottinger (2002)
  • Grace Chewning (2003)
  • Russell V. Hughes (2005)
  • Robert G. “Bob” Neel (2006)
  • Jerry Chicone Jr. (2007)
  • Andrew Serros (2009)
  • Betty Pfeiffer (2010)
  • William Milligan (2011)
  • Robert N. Serros, M.D. (2012)
  • Joy Wallace Dickinson (2013)
  • Sara Van Arsdel (2014)
  • The Rev. Canon Nelson W. Pinder (2015)
  • Don Price (2016)

Celebration of the 2017 Donald A. Cheney Award

Thursday, November 30, 2017
Refreshments, 6 – 6:30 p.m.
Award Presentation, 6:30 – 7:30 p.m.

You are invited to the Historical Society of Central Florida’s Celebration of its 2017 Donald A. Cheney Award honoring Joseph Wittenstein.

Joseph Wittenstein, 1914-2008, had a remarkable grasp of the Orlando area’s history and an ability to recall details from most of the 20th century that proved invaluable in understanding our past.

During the nation’s Bicentennial celebration in 1975-1976, Wittenstein researched and wrote a history about Jewish settlers in Orange County that became an essential document in the Historical Society’s research collection. It will be on display during Kehillah: A History of Jewish Life in Orlando (Nov. 12-Feb. 20), a collaborative exhibit of the History Center and the Greater Orlando Jewish Community.

Wittenstein also enriched Central Florida through his wide civic and philanthropic involvement. We remember and honor him as a man of integrity, service, and wisdom.

We hope you’ll join us November 30 to honor Joe Wittenstein. Please RSVP by November 23 by calling Amanda Henry at 407-836-7046. Free admission.

John Young History Maker Award

The 11th Annual John Young History Maker Celebration