Historical Society Honors Dr. E. Ann McGee of Seminole State College

The 12th John Young History Maker Celebration will also honor the late Albert Nelson


Please save the date for the Historical Society of Central Florida’s 12th Annual John Young History Maker Celebration on Tuesday, May 22, 2018, at the Orange County Regional History Center.

The John Young History Maker Award is given each year to a Central Floridian whose lifetime of achievement has made a historic impact on the community. This year, we honor President E. Ann McGee of Seminole State College, who has led Seminole State for 22 transformative years, guiding its transition from a community college to a dynamic state institution.

The Historical Society will also honor the late Albert Nelson, longtime director of human relations for the City of Orlando, with its History Maker Past award and will announce the recipient of its History Maker Future Award: a scholarship given to an outstanding Central Florida public high school senior.

Please join us for this annual celebration of our heritage: past, present, and future. For sponsorship information, click here.


Previous John Young History Maker Honorees

  • Captain John Young, 2005
  • Colonel Joe Kittinger, 2006
  • Toni Jennings, 2007
  • Charles Gray, 2008
  • Charles Millican, 2010
  • John Hillenmeyer, 2011
  • Ann Sonntag, 2012
  • Rita Bornstein, 2013
  • Judge Belvin Perry, Jr., 2014
  • Dr. John Hitt, 2015
  • Pat Williams, 2017

John Young History Maker Celebration Event and Scott Harris Memorial Scholarship Award

The Historical Society of Central Florida established the John Young History Maker Scholarship as part of the John Young History Maker Celebration, which began in 2005.

The celebration and awards honor the legacy of the nation’s longest-serving astronaut, Captain John Young, who grew up in Orlando. They also reflect the History Center’s mission – to honor the past and explore the present to shape the future – by recognizing Central Floridians whose lifetime achievement has created a lasting positive impression on our community.

The 12th Annual John Young History Maker Celebration event is set for Tuesday, May 22, 2018, in Orlando, Florida.

The John Young Future History Maker Award was established to recognize a Central Florida high school senior (and, when funding is available, more than one) who is attending a college or university with the goal of making a difference (making history) in future lives in a positive way.

Now named the Scott Harris Memorial Scholarship, the award honors the late television anchor at Central Florida News 13, who played an integral role as emcee of the annual John Young programs until his passing in 2011.